Genesis: The Last Domino? Tour

British Rock band Genesis are going on tour in the UK towards the end of the year, their first tour since 2007, When In Rome.

I was completely unaware and surprised to discover this tour happening 2020! I just purchased 2 tickets now, but be warned, they are very expensive. I understand they are popular, bestselling, revered….but give us a break….£350 for a ticket to stand up? I’d rather sit anyway for £181….a bloody expensive seat. The memory will hopefully be a good one, and will last a lifetime. With the lock down, I am spending less and so have the extra cash. Anyway, that was 1 thing on my list for when I am allowed out again, visit a concert! Genesis have now filled the slot and I am very happy.

The line up will consist of the 3, Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford. Ticket Master UK has this description:

Genesis, one of the biggest selling recording artists of all time and one of Britain’s most internationally renowned bands, will be touring for the first time in 13 years.

The Last Domino? Tour 2020 starts in Dublin on 16 November and will be Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford’s first live outing together since the globe-trotting, sell-out Turn It On Again: The Tour in 2007. They will be joined on stage by Nic Collins on drums, and the band’s long-time guitar and bass player Daryl Stuermer.

Genesis have sold an estimated 100 million albums and have played to sold-out stadiums and arenas all over the world for decades.

The evolution of Genesis is unique, their sound developed and progressed throughout their career and with multiple line-up alterations in the early years, the classic line-up of Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford took shape in 1976.

And Then There Were Three (1978) was the first album the band released as a three-piece and spawned the single Follow You Follow Me which was their first UK top 10 and US top 30 single and proved to be the start of huge commercial global success. The albums Duke (1980), Abacab (1981), Genesis (1983), Invisible Touch (1986) and We Can’t Dance (1991) followed for the trio, alongside almost constant global stadium tours cementing the band as one of the most successful of all time.

Tony, Phil and Mike reunited again as a band in 2007 after almost 10 years for the Turn It On Again Tour which went on to be one of the biggest grossing tours on the year playing sold-out stadiums around the world.

So, there’s the news in this very happy post. Check out the song – I Can’t Dance – by Genesis below for your entertainment.


Shapeshifting: Joe Satriani – Album Review

A brilliant, original, creative and extremely versatile album. The name Shapeshifting was a great choice and reflects the variety of styles used in this album.

01. Shapeshifting
02. Big Distortion
03. All For Love
04. Ali Farka, Dick Dale, an Alien and Me
05. Teardrops
06. Perfect Dust
07. Nineteen Eighty
08. All My Friends Are Here
09. Spirits, Ghosts and Outlaws
10. Falling Stars
11. Waiting
12. Here The Blue River
13. Yesterday’s Yesterday

That is the song list. 13 songs of genius creativity. A man with a track record spanning from the eighties to the present day. The underlined tracks Big Distortion & Ninety Eighty were released early and the video for Ninety Eighty is excellent. There does not seem to be a limit with where Joe can go, and I mean no limit.

The downside is that Ninety Eighty is by far my favourite song and not long enough! The songs are actually quite sharp and fit in enough music taste to please even the most die hard fans. There are traces of surfing with the alien and a few others albums. But it is an original album, full stop.

I recommend it to new and old fans. What Happens Next released 2018, and I honestly thought that was brilliant, but Joe has done it again.

My rating: 9/10

Joe Satriani: What Happens Next

Joe Satriani, a master of his instrument and a brilliant artist. His newest release, What happens next, is laid back and full of good beats.

I won’t do a full analysis of the album, but overall it is completely relaxed and it feels like Joe is now so far into his instrument that anything sounds decent. It is supposed to be high energy, but some of the tracks are full of emotion and awesome solos as usual.

I do believe the best tracks of the album are energy, thunder high on the mountain, headrush, righteous, what happens next and invisible. Each delivers a great back beat with awesome solo notes thrown in, and the collaboration with Chad Smith and Glenn Hughes was a good idea. The songs seem to be housing a mystical and enlightening backdrop to them, they make you feel alive, they make you relax and calm and bring back memories of previous albums. I won’t go into detail but throughout the album you can hear sounds and styles previously released in other songs.

Unlike it’s predecessor, Shockwave Supernova, this album doesn’t provide a listener with what they want, a developing sound, instead the songs rely on repetitive beats that are played over. It does go into new more adventurous effect usage though, but ultimately it kind of makes it feel a little like a new band trying new ideas. If more time was given to them, perhaps they could have come across as not so annoying, as is the case in Catbot.

If you are a fan like I am, then of course listen. I won’t stop listening because I dislike certain sounds, the originality is there in small segments.

Overall: 3/5